Wales Institute of Social & Economic Research, Data & Methods
Sefydliad Ymchwil Gymdeithasol ac Economaidd, Data a Dulliau Cymru

Directory of Expertise

Cymraeg

A directory of expertise relating to the field of education has been created by the WISERDEducation project. Please use the search box below to find experts in specific areas.

Name and Institution Email Address Areas of Expertise

Gail Parker

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

gail.parker@uwtsd.ac.uk

Foundation Phase, Outdoor Learning, Well Being Within The Early Years, Experiential Learning, Early Years Provision, Foundation Phase Pedagogy

Subhi Ashour

Open University in Wales

subashour@gmail.com

Action Research, Qualitative Research, Interviewing, Qualitative Data Analysis Literature Review, Case Study, Interviewing, Document Analysis, Ethnography

Dr Manuel Souto-Otero

Cardiff University

Souto-OteroM@cardiff.ac.uk

Education Policy and Policy Evaluation, European Education Policy, Education and Work, Higher Education, Sociology of Education, Comparative Methods, Case Studies, Surveys, Statistical Analysis, Ex-ante; Interim and Ex-post Evaluation

Dr Jane Dorrian

Cardiff Metropolitan University

jdorrian@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Early Years Education, Early Years Education Policy, Early Years Education Practice

Amanda Thomas

University of South Wales

amanda.thomas@southwales.ac.uk

Early Years, Schematic Behaviours, Play, Mixed Methods, Action Research, Case Studies, Observations

Dr Susan Jones

Bangor University

s.w.jones@bangor.ac.uk

Scientific Literacy, Numeracy and Science, How Student Teachers Learn, Dyslexia, Science Education, Action Research, Questionnaires, Semi-structured Interviews

Jessica Clapham

Bangor University

eds075@bangor.ac.uk

Linguistics, Bilingualism, Education, Intercultural Awareness, ESL, Qualitative Research, Qualitative Interviewing, Narrative Inquiry, Case Study, Critical Discourse Analysis

Dr Howard Tanner

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

howard.tanner@uwtsd.ac.uk

Mathematics Education, Assessment For Learning, Numeracy, Dialogic Approaches, Thinking Skills and Metacognition, Action Research, Quantitative Methodology, Qualitative Methodology, Case Study, Video-stimulated Reflective Dialogue

Peredur Williams

Bangor University

i.p.williams@bangor.ac.uk

Design, Design and Technology, Creativity

Prof Sally Power

Cardiff University

powers3@cf.ac.uk

Sociology of Education, Education Policy, Higher Education, Social Inequalities and Education Interviewing, Questionnaire Design, Qualitative Longitudinal Research

Mair Lloyd

Open University in Wales

mair.classics@gmail.com

Latin Pedagogy, Language Learning Theories Mixed Methods, Auto Ethnography, Participant Observer, Statistical Analysis

Dr Peter Hemming

Cardiff University

HemmingPJ@cardiff.ac.uk

Faith Schools, Religion and Education, Children and Religion, Citizenship Education Ethnography, Qualitative Interviews, Child-centred Methodologies

Dr Karen McInnes

University of South Wales

karen.mcinnes@southwales.ac.uk

Early Years Education, Play and Playfulness, Play Therapy and Therapeutic Play, Qualitative

Dr Carmel Conn

University of South Wales

carmel.conn@southwales.ac.uk

Autism, Inclusive Education, Special Educational Needs and Disability, Play, Socialisation, Research with Children, Participatory Research, Ethnography, Disability Research, Conversation Analysis

Junnine Thomas-Walters

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

junnine.thomas-walters@uwtsd.ac.uk

Early Years Play, Mentoring and Coaching, Additional Learning Needs, Teaching and Learning Early Years Play

Graham French

Bangor University

g.k.french@bangor.ac.uk

Outdoor Education

Dr Yvonne Barnes

Cardiff University

barnesy1@cardiff.ac.uk

Teacher CPD, Primary Education and Pedagogy, Primary Mathematics, Early Years Mathematics Teacher Inquiry, Qualitative Methods

Kathy Evans

University of South Wales

Kathy.Evans@southwales.ac.uk

Special Education, Social and Emotional Learning, Looked After Children, Gender Violence Comparative European Research, Evaluations, Participatory Research

Alison Murphy

University of South Wales

alison.murphy@southwales.ac.uk

Early Years Education and Practice, Children's National Identity, Children's Perceptions of Welsh National Identity, Multimodal Research, Child Centred Research Methods

Dr Nicola Birdsey

University of South Wales

nicola.birdsey@southwales.ac.uk

Socio-cultural Approach to Learning, Play Mixed-methods, Quantitative Research, Qualitative Research (Interviewing and Thematic Analysis)

Dr Caroline Lohmann-Hancock

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

c.lohmann-hancock@uwtsd.ac.uk

Education, Offender Learning, Meritocracy, Agency, Exclusion, Participatory Research, Visual Analysis, Qualitative, Ethnography

Prof Alan Felstead

Cardiff University

alanfelstead@cf.ac.uk

Skills, Training, Learning, Job Quality Survey Design, Secondary Data Analysis, Case Study Research

Dr Jacky Tyrie

Cardiff Metropolitan University

jtyrie@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Children's Rights, Children's Gender Equality, Early Years, Mixed Methods, Research with Young Children, Focus Groups

Dr Jane Waters

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

jane.waters@uwtsd.ac.uk

Early Years Education, Foundation Phase, Early Years Pedagogy, Adult-child Interaction (education) Qualitative Socio-cultural, Analysis of Educative Interaction, Thematic Analysis, Socio-constructivist Grounded Theory, Analysis of Audio and Video Data

Rhiannon Packer

University of South Wales

rhiannon.packer@decymru.ac.uk

Bilingualism, SpLD/Dyslexia

Amanda Kelland

University of South Wales

amanda.kelland@southwales.ac.uk

Dyslexia, Specific Learning Difficulties, Assessment, SEN Psychometric Assessment, Profiling

Dr Mahruf Shohel

Aberystwyth University

mcs11@aber.ac.uk

Technology in Education, International Development, School Transition, Non-formal Education, Teachers' Professional Development, Mixed Methods, Qualitative Methods, Visual Methods, Case Study, Ethnography

Dr Buddug Angharad Hughes

Aberystwyth University

bah6@aber.ac.uk

Language Planning and Policy in Education , Welsh Medium Education, Bilingualism, Literacy Practices Linguistic Ethnography

Dr Anne-Marie Smith

Bangor University

amsmith@bangor.ac.uk

Concepts of Childhood, Children's Rights (political/ Participation), Pedagogy of Childhood Studies, Ethnography, Qualitative Research, International Fieldwork, Reflexivity in Research

Prof Enlli Thomas

Bangor University

enlli.thomas@bangor.ac.uk

Psycholinguistic Approaches to Language Acquisition (morphology, Syntax and Vocabulary), Bilingualism, Bilingualism in Education, Bilingual Assessment, SES, Literacy, Executive Function and Bilingualism, Quantitative, Qualitative, Mixed Methods, Experimental, Psychometric

Prof Chris Taylor

Cardiff University

taylorcm@cardiff.ac.uk

Geography of Education, Higher Education Participation, Education Organisation and Provision, Policy Evaluation, Child Development, Longitudinal Data Analysis, Secondary Data Sets, Mixed Methods Research, Surveys, Interviews

Dr Dean Stroud

Cardiff University

stroudda1@cardiff.ac.uk

Workplace Learning, Vocational Education and Training, Skills Policy, Trade Unions, Comparative Political Economy, Qualitative, Interviewing, Use of Interpreters and Translators

Dr Alison Bullock

Cardiff University

bullockad@cardiff.ac.uk

Medical Education, Dental Education, Education of Healthcare Professionals, Knowledge Mobilisation Case Studies, Realist Approaches, Mixed Methods

Prof Janet Laugharne

Cardiff Metropolitan University

jlaugharne@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Teacher Education, Literacy Education, Welsh and Bilingualism, Narrative As a Methodological Tool, Text-based Analysis, Connected to Literary Criticism

Dr Judith Kneen

Cardiff Metropolitan University

jkneen@cardiffmet.ac.uk

ICT in English Teaching, Reciprocal Peer Teaching in Initial Teacher Education, Problem-based Learning in Initial Teacher Education, Systematic Classroom Observation

Dr Kevin Smith

Cardiff University

smithk26@cardiff.ac.uk

Curriculum Theory, Curriculum Development, Teacher Professional Development, Teacher Education, Educational Leadership, Ethnography, Critical Discourse Analysis, Narrative Methods, Case Studies

Prof Emma Renold

Cardiff University

renold@cf.ac.uk

Sexual and Gender-based Bullying and Violence, Sex and Relationships Education, Feminism in Schools and Youth Groups, LGBTQ+ and Young People, Social Justice and Young Activism, Creative Methods, Affective Methods, Ethnography, Participatory Methods, Visual Methods

David Thomas

Glyndwr University

d.thomas@glyndwr.ac.uk

Additional Learning Needs, Supporting Challenging Behaviour, SPLD/Dyslexia, Teaching Assistants

Dr Glenda Tinney

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

g.tinney@uwtsd.ac.uk

ESDGC, Widening Access and Flexible Provision, Outdoor Learning

Jo Bowers

Cardiff Metropolitan University

jbowers@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Literacy in Primary Education, Children's Literature, Philosophy For Children, Thinking Skills Case Study, Action Research

Dr Richard Davies

Aberystwyth University

Rid11@aber.ac.uk

Online Learning, Elective Home Education, Informal Education, Continuing Professional Development, Work-based Learning, Philosophy of Education

Clare Lee

Open University in Wales

clare.lee@open.ac.uk

Pedagogy, Assessment For Learning, Mathematics Education, Mathematics Resilience, Learning Theory, Action Research, Phenomenology, Discourse Analysis

Catherine Morgan

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

c.morgan@uwtsd.ac.uk

Teacher Education, Teacher Education: Music, Teacher Education; Welsh Second Language, Teacher Education

Prof Jonathan Rix

Open University in Wales

jonathan.rix@open.ac.uk

Inclusive Education, Special Education, Pedagogy, Participatory Research, Systematic Reviews, Qualitative Approaches

Martin Barclay

Cardiff Metropolitan University

mbarclay@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Post Compulsory Education and Training, Post Compulsory Curriculum Studies, Post Compulsory Education Management, Qualitative Studies, Case Study, Historical Studies

Dr Gill Jones

Cardiff Metropolitan University

GLJones@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Enterprise in HE, Leadership and Management of Enterprise Initiatives in HE, Enterprise Education, Qualitative Data Collection, Bilingual Data Collection

Dr Ceryn Evans

Cardiff University

evansc15@cardiff.ac.uk

Higher Education, Young People, Widening Participation, Social Class Qualitative Interviewing, Focus Groups

Helen Lewis

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

h.e.lewis@uwtsd.ac.uk

Thinking Skills, Metacognition, Foundation Phase, Teacher Development and Reflective, Primary Mathematics, Mixed Methods Research, Video Reflection, Participatory Methods

Alison Rees Edwards

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

a.rees-edwards@uwtsd.ac.uk

Children with Additional Learning Needs, Early Literacy, Children's Language Development, Bilingualism, Inclusive Practice, Children with Additional Learning, Early Literacy, Children's Language Development, Bilingualism, Inclusive Practice

Dr Jan Barnes

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

janine.barnes@uwtsd.ac.uk

Digital Competency, Cultural Historical Activity Theory, Teaching English Language, Pedagogy and Practice, Learning Theory, Qualitative, Socio Cultural, Thematic Analysis, Cultural Historical Activity Theory

Dr. Kieran Hodgkin

Cardiff Metropolitan University

khodgkin@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Primary-Secondary Transition, Sport, School-based Research, Pupil-voice, Physical Education, Ethnography, Qualitative Research

Jo Bowers

Cardiff Metropolitan University

jbowers@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Literacy in Primary Education, Children's Literature, Children's Reading For Pleasure, Teachers Subject Knowledge of Child, Philosophy For Children (p4c), Case Study, Action Research

Dr Susan Davis

Cardiff Metropolitan University

sdavis@Cardiffmet.ac.uk

Emotional Literacy, PGCE Primary Education, Wellbeing, Outdoors and Play MA, EdD

Dr Carmen Casaliggi

Cardiff Metropolitan University

ccasaliggi@cardiffmet.ac.uk

English Literature, Romanticism, Nineteenth-Century, Romantic History of Art, European Romanticism

Chantelle Haughton

Cardiff Metropolitan University

chaughton@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Early Years, Forest School, Outdoor Play and Learning, Community Engagement, Emotional Literacy, Inclusion in The Early Years, Multi-modal Approaches to Research, Observing in The Early Years

Sian Brooks

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

S.Brooks@uwtsd.ac.uk

MFL Education, Digital Technology, French Language, Spanish Language, Additional Learning Needs, Multilingual Literacy, Translation, Grammar Acquisition, Vocabulary Acquisition, Digital Learning and Teaching

Dr Helen Emery

Cardiff Metropolitan University

hemery@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages, Teaching English to Young Learners, English For Specific Purposes, Language Assessment, Second Language Literacy and Vocabulary, Teaching English to Speakers of Ot, Teaching English to Young Learners, English For Specific Purposes, Second Language Teaching, Second Language Assessment

Emily Abbinett

Cardiff Metropolitan University

eabbinett@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Inclusion, SEN and Disability, Technology in Education, Assistive Technology Qualitative Research, Participatory Research, Interviews

Dr Sue Wilkinson

Cardiff Metropolitan University

swilkinson@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Applied Cognitive Psychology, Human Computer Interaction, Application of Psychology to Learning and Teaching, Blended Learning Quantitative Research Methods, Experimental Design

Dr Gabriel John Roberts

Cardiff Metropolitan University

gjroberts@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages, English Language Assessment, Refugee Training, Ethics, English Language Teaching Methods

Cheryl J Anthony

Cardiff Metropolitan University

canthony@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Primary Education, Primary Mathematics, ICT, Teacher Education and Training

Paul Brooks

Cardiff Metropolitan University

pbrooks@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Critical Thinking, English Language Teaching, Cognitive Questioning, Critical Thinking, English Language Teaching, Cognitive Questioning

Dr Jean Ware

Bangor University

j.ware@bangor.ac.uk

Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties (PMLD), Bilingualism and Special Educational Needs, Curriculum Access, Continuing Professional Development, Inclusive Education, Case Studies, Involving People with Learning Difficulties in Resea, Survey Methods

Carys W Richards

University of Wales Trinity Saint David

c.richards@uwtsd.ac.uk

Foundation Phase, Pedagogy, Gender, Wellbeing, Curriculum, Ethnography, Interviews, Observational Case Studies

Dr Jill Llewellyn-Williams

Cardiff Metropolitan University

jlwilliams@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Language Education, Language Reactivation, Language Assessment, Modern Foreign Languages, Teaching English As a Second Language, Continuing Professional Development

Professor Gary Beauchamp

Cardiff Metropolitan University

gbeauchamp@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Primary Education, Music Education, Teacher Education, ICT in Education, Interactive Learning, Qualitative Research, Video-stimulated Reflective Dialogue, Analysis of Video Data

Dan Davies

Cardiff Metropolitan University

djdavies@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Science Education, Technology Education, Creativity in Education, Assessment in Education Evaluation Research, Mixed Methods, Qualitative Analysis